Teens @ Duluth

(Click on HOME for newest blog posts.) Did you love it? Did you loathe it? What are you reading?

The Ask and the Answer – Patrick Ness

Posted by Laura on January 20, 2010

I don’t even know where to begin with this one. The Ask and the Answer is the second book in Patrick Ness’s Chaos Walking trilogy. I blogged about the first book last week – I loved it. I love this one, as well.  My problem is this… How do I tell you about this book without ruining the first book if you have not yet read it? At least you could go and read what I wrote about it. Go ahead – I’ll wait.

So, the last book ends with Todd and Viola (the girl who was in the center of the silence I had mentioned in the previous post)  reaching the city (Haven)  that they were running towards during the whole first book.  The second book deals with what they find in Haven.  It is no longer Haven.

Todd and Viola are separated and neither knows if the other is alive.  Each gets caught up in different sides of a civil war.  Neither knows who to trust.  Each ends up doing things that they don’t want to do.  How do you decide what to do when there seems to be no right answer?  Should you do a terrible deed because at least if you were the one doing it you wouldn’t be as nasty about it as someone else?  Horrible.  I can’t wait until I can get my hands on the next one – which won’t be until September of 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
